Saturday, November 6, 2010

Quick Reference: Kohlberg's Stages of Moral Development

Preconventional Morality

9 and under.
Based on self-interest.
Obey to avoid punishment or gain reward.

Conventional Morality

Early adolescence.
Begin to care for others and observe laws and social rules simply to uphold the rules.
Gaining perspective.

Postconventional Morality

Developing formal operations.
Able to understand universal ethical principles.

No comments:

Post a Comment