Saturday, November 6, 2010

Quick Reference: Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development

Trust vs. mistrust

Ages 1-3
Learn to trust caregivers
How can we trust environment when it is constantly changing
Autonomy vs. Shame
Creating own ideas, do it themselves, or doubt ability

Initiative vs. Guilt

I can do this by myself, no help needed
Ages 3-5

Industry vs. Inferiority

‘I’ll get recognized by being industrious, or forced to feel inferior’
elementary school

Identity vs. Identity Diffusion

Who am I?
Integrating roles into one single identity

Intimacy vs. Isolation

Young adulthood
Form close relationships or feel socially isolated
Looking for developmental connection w/another person
These stages do not need to happen at certain times
Stages can be revisited – life happens

Generativity vs. Stagnation

Midlife – where have I gone, where am I going
Plateau in career, in life
Am I stagnant, or can I grow?
Do I contribute to society, or do I lack purpose?

Integrity vs. Despair

Integrity – I feel good about my life, what I have done; acceptance
Despair – oh crap, regret, what the fuck have I done? I messed up
Satisfaction vs. failure
late 60s and up

No comments:

Post a Comment